Cumberland Valley, Cumberland County – After a strong push to recruit candidates this spring, strong growth communities in Eastern Cumberland County are seeing new leaders step forward for local office.

In the largest municipality in the county – Hampden Township – two Democrats are on the ballot for Township Commissioner: Marie De La Hoz and John Matthew Smith. Stay tuned for more information on their campaigns. Countywide candidate for Cumberland County Prothonotary Michael Fedor is also a resident of Hampden Township.

In Silver Spring Township, just one Township Supervisor post is available for a six year term. We have a wonderful young woman on the ballot – Liana Walters – and she is going to be counting on your support in May and November. For Township Auditor,  Kathleen M. Albright has filed. Countywide candidate for Cumberland County Clerk of Criminal Courts Asha Makam is also a resident of Silver Springs Township.

The positions on the Cumberland Valley School Board are divided into three sections: Hampden Township (2 seats), Middlesex & Monroe (1 seat), and Silver Spring (1 seat). While candidates have filed for two of the three sections, only two candidates are registered Democrats. They are John Scioli and Nicole C. Miller. They need your vote on May 16th to move onto the Election in November as our Democratic nominees.

If you are a registered Democrat in Monroe, Middlesex, or Silver Spring Townships and would be interested on serving on the Cumberland Valley School Board, please contact the County Chair about your interest in running as a write in.

Numerous Democrats have qualified for the ballot for Judges and Inspectors of Elections in these areas. They are as follows:

Judge of Elections, Hampden 2 – Kathleen Keadan

Inspector of Elections, Hampden 2 – Donna F. Ratulowski

Inspector of Elections, Hampden 5 – Donna Wood

Inspector of Elections, Hampden 8 – Gail F. Hess

Inspector of Elections, Middlesex 1 – Michael A. Buchanan

Judge of Elections, Middlesex 2 – Rita M. Stanek

Inspector of Elections, Silver Spring 1 – Richard L. Bronakoski and Phyllis C. Campbell have both filed (only 1 will be elected)

Inspector of Elections, Silver Spring 8 – Robert M. Fisher

Inspector of Elections, Silver Spring 9 – Bernadette Becker

Other key offices where no Democrat has filed, but one could win the Party nomination through write in:

  • Hampden Township Commissioner (1)
  • Middlesex Township Supervisor (1)
  • Monroe Township Supervisor (1)